Temples in Uttarakhand

The glorifying Uttarakhand is a peaceful state which has been conferred with the epithet of “Devbhoomi”, the land of gods. To live up to its name the state possesses various sacred shrines that are visited by thousands of devotees each year. Uttarakhand houses many sacred Hindu temples like Chota Char Dham, Panch Kedar, Panch Prayag, Panch Badri, Shakti Peeth and Siddha Peeth. These holy shrines are adorned in the mountain areas in the serenity of the Himalayas, making the aura divine. One can surrender in the divine intervention of Hindu gods and enrapture in the spiritual bliss of the hill temples.

The state holds a religious significance in the Hindu Vedas. The temples of Uttarakhand have been divided into two categories namely Kedarkhand- which houses the temples of Garhwal division and Manaskhand- which has the temples of Kumaon division of Uttarakhand. Every temple has a mythological associated to it which has been luring the devotees to pay obeisance at these holy temples.

Char Dham in Uttarakhand

  1. Gangotri temple
  2. Yamunotri temple
  3. Kedarnath temple
  4. Badrinath

Panch Badri Temples in Uttarakhand

  1. Badrinath – Vishal Badri
  2. Yogdhyan Badri
  3. Bhavisya Badri
  4. Vridha Badri
  5. Adi Badri

Panch Kedar temples in Uttarakhand

  1. Kedarnath
  2. Tungnath
  3. Rudranath
  4. Kalpeshwar
  5. Madhyamaheshwar or Madmaheshwar

Panch Prayag of Uttarakhand

  1. Vishnu Prayag
  2. Nand Prayag
  3. Karnaprayag
  4. Rudra Prayag
  5. Dev Prayag

Devi temples in Uttarakhand

  1. Ansuya Devi
  2. Balani Devi
  3. Banari Devi
  4. Champawati Durga
  5. Chamunda Devi
  6. Chandi Devi
  7. Chandika Mai (simli)
  8. Chandrabadani Mata
  9. Dhari Devi
  10. Durga Devi
  11. Garjiya Devi
  12. Gaura Devi
  13. Gaura Mai
  14. Hariyali Devi
  15. Hat Kalika
  16. Hokara Devi
  17. Jwalpa Devi
  18. Kali
  19. Kamakhya Devi
  20. Kalika Temple
  21. Kalika Temple
  22. Kasar Devi
  23. Kot ki Mai
  24. Kunjapuri
  25. Kuteti Devi
  26. Mahakali temple – kalimath Shaktipeeth
  27. Manila Devi
  28. Mansadevi
  29. Naina Devi
  30. Naithana Devi
  31. Nanda Devi(Nautri)
  32. Nanda Devi
  33. Nanda Devi
  34. Nanda Devi
  35. Navdurga Devi
  36. Pang Devi
  37. Purnagiri Mata
  38. Pushti Mata
  39. Santla Devi
  40. Sirkot Devi
  41. Syahi Devi
  42. Surkanda Devi
  43. Tripura Devi
  44. Tripura Devi
  45. Uma Devi
  46. Vaishno Devi
  47. Vaishno Devi
  48. Varahi Devi
  49. Vrinda Devi
  50. Dunagiri
  51. kotgari devi
  52. Bhramari Devi
  53. vaishnavi devi
  54. Bal Sundari Devi
  55. Jhula Devi
  56. Chandika devi
  57. Nanda Devi /Har Nanda
  58. Urvashi Devi
  59. Maya Devi
  60. Sureshwari Devi
  61. Kaiteshwari Devi
  62. Bhadrakali
  63. Siddha Peetha Hathkuni
  64. Jwalamukhi Temple
  65. Bhuvneshwari Peeth
  66. Bhuvneshwari Peeth
  67. Bhadrakali
  68. Kalimath

2 Responses

Leave a Reply