Uttarakhand High Court

Established on 9 Nov 2000, Uttarakhand High Court is functioning in an old building situated in Mallital Nainital which was known as old Secretariat which was constructed in 1900 A.D.In the beginning five Court rooms were constructed but later on more Court rooms have been added. A huge Chief Justice Court Block and a Block of Lawyers’ chambers have also been built up in the year 2007.

Justice Ashok A. Desai was appointed as the Acting Chief Justice of High Court of Uttarakhand at Nainital on 09 Nov 2000. Latest he was appointed as the first Chief Justice on Uttarakhand High Court on 06 Dec 2000 and remained in office till 31 Mar 2003.

Justice Barin Ghosh is the current Chief Justice of the Uttarakhand High Court. He assumed office on 12 August 2010.Other seven sitting Judges of Uttarakhand High Court are:Justice Tarun Agarwala (since 25 Sep 2009)Justice Prafulla C. Pant (since 19 Feb 2008)Justice Brahma Singh Verma (since 19 Feb 2008)Justice V.K. Bist (since 1 Nov 2008)Justice Sudhanshu Dhulia (since 01 Nov 2008)Justice Servesh Kumar Gupta (since 21 Apr 2011)Justice Umesh Chandra Dhyani: (since 13 Sep 2011)Last updated: 30 Nov 2011

Posted by: eUttaranchal/ Brijmohan Bisht
Uttarakhand High Court Photo
Uttarakhand High Court
Related Articles