Dehradun Circle Of Archaeological Survey Of India

The Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), is a well-known organisation for the archaeological researches and protection of the cultural heritage of the nation. It comes under the Ministry if Culture, of India. ASI work for restoration and maintenance of ancient monuments and archaeological sites. Divided into 24 circles, ASI regulates all the archaeological activities in the country.

About Dehradun Circle of the Archaeological Survey

Dehradun Circle of the Archaeological Survey of India is established on 16th June 2003, after bifurcation from Agra Circle on the creation of the new state with a mandate of better maintenance of protected monuments and further researches in archaeological disciplines in the region. 

The head office of Dehradun Circle of ASI is situated at 4 Rest camp, Tyagi Road, Dehradun. This circle has the responsibility to maintain and conserve 42 monuments and sites of Uttarakhand declared as of National importance as per Ancient Monuments & Archaeological sites & Remains Act 1958.

From thirteen districts of Uttarakhand, total 42 protected monuments or sites of national importance have been listed by Archaeological Survey of India including temples, fortress, excavated sites, rock inscriptions, water structures, cave and cemetery. Among which, 30 are temple sites of which 24 are still under worship. Generally, these monuments are made of local stone masonry.

Excavated sites Under Dehradun Circle of ASI

Total four excavated sites come under the protection of Dehradun Circle of ASI. These four sites are

  1. Kashipur (Udham Singh Nagar district)
  2. Jagatgram (Dehradun district)
  3. Virbhadra(Dehradun district)
  4. Purola (Uttarkashi district)

Rock Edict of King Ashoka at Kalsi (Dehradun) is the most important monument under the jurisdiction of this circle. This site is the only one of its kind in the entire central Himalayan region.

SUB-CIRCLES under Dehradun circle of ASI

For the proper Maintenance and restoration of centrally protected monuments, Dehradun circle is further divided into four sub-circles. These sub-circles helps in proper control of various activities like conservation, preservation & management etc.The sub-circles are as below:-

  1. Dehradun Sub-circle
  2. Gopeshwar Sub-circle
  3. Almora Sub-circle
  4. Kashipur Sub-circle
Sub Circle NameJurisdictionNumber of MonumentsAddress and Contact Details
Dehradun Sub CircleDehradun05+01(Rishikesh)Kalinga Monument, Sahastradhara Road,Dehradun.Ph:0135 - 2780965
Gopeshwar Sub CircleChamoli06Rudranath Temple Campus,GopeshwarPh:01372 - 252343
Almora Sub CircleAlmora18Rawatpura Laxmeshwar,AlmoraPh:05962- 233230
Kashipur Sub CircleNainital02Dronasagar,KashipurPh:05947-260566
Udham Singh Nagar01
Posted by: eUttaranchal/ Brijmohan Bisht
Related Articles