Trisul Peak I, II & III

Resembling Lord Shiva’s famed trident, Trishul is a group of three Himalayan peaks in the Bageshwar district of Uttarakhand. The massif is a north-south ridge, with Trisul I at the north end and Trisul III at the south. It forms the southwest corner of the ring of peaks enclosing the Nanda Devi Sanctuary. The three peaks are as follows:Trishul I - 7,120m (Prominence: 1616m)Trishul II - 6,690m (Prominence: < 200m)Trishul III - 6,007m (Prominence: <200m)

Trishul I was first climbed in 1907 by T.G. Longstaff after he made the first climbing reconnaissance of Trisul, in September 1905. Trisul II and Trisul III were first climbed in 1960 by a team from Yugoslavia.



The Trisul massif can be accessed via the following route: Almora - Kausani- Garur- Gwaldam - Debal - Bagargad - Wan - Bedini Bugyal - Kelva Vinayak - Roopkund - Trisul.

Posted by: eUttaranchal/ Brijmohan Bisht
Related Articles