Uttarakhand GK Questions

Important GK questions about Uttarakhand will help you prepare for various competitive examinations as well as help your general knowledge about Uttarakhand state.

General Knowledge of Uttarakhand is one of the major topics for preparing for competitive exams of Uttarakhand State Govt Jobs. Here we have compiled a list of important Uttarakhand GK Questions in question and answer format.

Q. When was Garhwal University established?
A. Garhwal University was established in 1973 in Srinagar.

Q. When was the British capital shifted from Srinagar to Pauri?
A. 1840

Q. Where  is "Butter Festival" celebrated in Uttarakhand?
A. Dayara Bugyal, Uttarkashi.

Q. Which Tribe of Uttarakhand has the lowest population?
A. VanRaji tribe has the lowest population in Uttarakhand. They dwell in Pithoragarh district.

Q. "Bulaak" is an ornament of?
A. Nose

Q. Name the two cities/towns which are proposed to be connected through the longest road tunnel in the world?
A. Dehradun and Tehri. A road tunnel is proposed between Dehradun (Ranipokhri) and Tehri (Koti colony) which would be approx 30kms long. Currently, the 24.5 km Laerdal tunnel in Norway is the longest road tunnel in the world.

Q. Who is appointed as the Chairman of Char Dham Devasthanam Management Board?
A. The serving Chief Minister of Uttarakhand is appointed as the Chairman of Char Dham Devasthanam Management Board while the Tourism Minister of the state is appointed as the Vice Chairman?
Update: On 30 Nov 2021, CM Pushkar Singh Dhami announced that the Char Dham Devasthanam Board Bill will be repealed.

Q. In which year is the proposed Rishikesh-Karnaprayag railway project expected to be completed?
A. 2024

Q. From which constituency is the current chief minister of Uttarakhand, Pushkar Singh Dhami elected as MLA
A. Khatima

Q. Who was the first Chief Minister of Uttarakhand?
A. Nityanand Swami

Q. When was Uttarakhand formed?
A. 9 Nov 2000

Q. Which districts in Uttarakhand have lowest and largest population?
A. The districts with lowest and largest population in Uttarakhand are Rudraprayag and Haridwar respectively as per 2011 census.

Q. Which two districts in Uttarakhand had a negative population growth as per 2011 census?
A. Almora and Pauri districts in Uttarakhand had negative population growth as per 2011 census.

Q. Who is the first women from Uttarakhand to conquer Mt. Everest?
A. Bachendri Pal is the first women of Uttarakhand and India as well to conquer Mt. Everest in year 1984. She was born in Nakuri Village in Uttarkashi district.

Q. Who started Chipko Movement in Uttarakhand?
A. Chipko Movement was lead by Gaura Devi from Raini village in Chamoli district of Uttarakhand. It started in 1973.

Q. Where is the headquarter of Kumaon Regiment located in Uttarakhand?
A. KRC is located in Ranikhet.

Q. Where is the headquarter of Garhwal Rifles located in Uttarakhand?
A. Lansdowne

Q. Where is Indian Military Academy (IMA) located?
A. Dehradun

Q. Who was the first Chief of Army Staff from Uttarakhand origin?
A. Gen. Bipin Chandra Joshi

Q. Where is Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration situated?
A. Mussoorie

Q. Which is the oldest National Park in Uttarakhand?
A. Jim Corbett National Park

Q. At which place does Alaknanda and Bhagirathi river confluence together?
A. Bhagirathi and Alaknanda rivers meet at Devprayag. The river is then known as Ganga.

Q. Which city is known as Sarovar Nagri?
A. Nainital

Q. Which is the highest peak in Uttarakhand?
A. Nanda Devi

Q. In which year did Kedarnath flood occur?
A. 2013

Q. Which River passes through the Valley of Flowers?
A. Pushpawati river

Q. Which lake is also known as the "mystery lake" or the "skeleton lake"?
A. Roopkund

Q. On the confluence of which two rivers is Tehri Dam build?
A. Bhagirathi and Bhilangana

Q. Which is the state flower of Uttarakhand?
A. Brahmkamal is the state flower of Uttarakhand.

Q. Who is the only CM of Uttarakhand to complete his full 5 years term?
A. Narayan Dutt Tiwari (2002-2007)

Q. The temple of Badrinath is dedicated to which deity?
A. Lord Vishnu

Q. Name the art form of Kumaon which uses various shapes and lines in white colour drawn over red/geru background.
A. Aipan

Q. Which pass connects Pithoragarh district with Tibet?
A. Lipulekh Pass.

Q. What was the original name of Jim Corbett National Park?
A. Hailey National Park

Q. Where is the author of the book "Kumaon Ka Itihas" (History of Kumaon)?
A. Badri Dutt Pandey

Q. Who founded the Gandhi Ashram in Almora?
A. Shanti Lal Chaturvedi

Q. In the Skand Puran, with which name is the Garhwal region referred to?
A. Kedarkhand

Q. Who is the author of book "Garhwal Paintings"?
A. Mukundi Lal

Q. Who is the only recipient of "Bharat Ratna" from Uttarakhand?
A. Govind Bhallabh Pant was awarded "Bharat Ratna" in 1957

Q. Where is Hill Jatra festival  celebrated?
A. Soar Valley, Pithoragarh

Q. Who was the first recipient of of Padma Vibhushan from Uttarakhand?
A. Ghananad Pandey

Q. Who is the first Uttarakhand born winner of Nobel Prize?
A. Ronal Ross, born in Almora in 1857, was awarded Nobel Prize for his discovery of the life cycle of malarial parasite in birds.

Q. India's first CDS, Vipin Rawat belongs to which district?
A. Pauri

Q. Who was the first commissioner of British Kumaon?
A. Gardner

Q. Who was the first commissioner of Kumaon in independent India?
A. K.L. Mehta

Posted by: eUttaranchal/ Bhupendra Kunwar