About Kalapani

Situated on the Kailash Mansasarovar route, at an altitude of 3600mts, Kalapani is a blooming valley administered as a part of Pithoragarh district of Uttarakhand. Kalapani is embraced with pine, juniper, and Bhojpatra trees and the mighty Himalayas stand tall guarding it. The Kali River in Kalapani marks the border between India and Nepal.

En route Mansarover Indo - Nepal Border in Pithoragarh District

Kalapani in Adi Kailash

Kalapani is also known as Vyas Valley as it is said that the Great Sage Vyasa meditated here. A popular attraction in Kalapani is the Vyasa cave where Ved Vyasa is believed to have stayed for some time. The serene location of Kalapani and a wide range of flora and fauna make Kalapani an ideal tourist attraction. The famous Kali temple, Vyasa cave, Kalapani spring, and the nearby villages of Gunji and Budhi are interesting places to visit.

Kalapani : The Source of Kali River

Kala Pani is the source of famous Sharda or Kali river of India. Both India and Nepal claimed that this area belongs to their region. The source is sacred in Hindu religion and a temple is also situated in the premises. Travelers or pilgrimage of Kailash Mansarovar yatra and Aadi Kailash Yatra also visit this place on their trek route.

Trek to Kalapani, Pithoragarh

The trek of Kalapani starts from Tawaghat , a small town which is situated in Dharchula region of Pithoragarh. Here is a short info about the route:

  • Tawaghat to Narayan Ashram - 35 km by road 
  • Narayan Ashram to Sirkha - 6 Km by Trek
  • Sirkha to Gala - 14km by Trek
  • Gala to Malpa - 12km by Trek
  • Malpa To Budhi - 8km by Trek
  • Budhi village to Chiyalekh To Garbayang - 3 + 5 km by Trek
  • Garbayang to Gunji village - 9km by trek
  • Gunji to Kalapani - 9km by Trek

Location & How to Reach Kalapani

Bus service from Both Delhi and Dehradun are available to Pithoragarh. From where you can travel by using public transport till Dharchula and then sharable cab to Tawaghat. Also,  If you miss the bus for Pithoragarh, you can take a bus till Almora and then get a bus/taxi from Almora to Pithoragarh. From Pithoragarh, you can hire a taxi till the last motorable road (preferably till Dharchula). From then on, you can trek to Kalapani.

Read How to Reach guide for Adi Kailash.

Places to See in Adi Kailash

View all Places
Pay securely online with
Book a TourCoronaVirus Update !