Rishikesh Karnprayag Railway Project

The Rishikesh–Karnaprayag Railway will be a broad gauge railway line will be introduced by Indian Railways, connecting Rishikesh to Karnaprayag in the state of Uttarakhand. The upcoming railway line project aims to make train journeys convenient and comfortable for pilgrims.

It is part (first phase) of Char Dham Railway to connect to the Char Dhams of Uttarakhand.

The Rishikesh-Karnprayag railway line project will be 125 kms long. The Rishikesh-Karnprayag broad gauge railway line project will have a total of 12 new railway stations, 35 bridges as well as 17 tunnels. The railway line is scheduled for completion by December 2024. And hopefully by 2025, the trains will be operations for tourists.

Future Railway Stations on this Route

Every Railway Station will feature the artwork that will promote the culture and tourism of Uttarakhand. 

Veerbhadra -  Yog Nagri Rishikesh - Shivpuri - Byasi - Devprarayag - Maletha - Srinagar - Dhari Devi - Rudraprayag - Gholteer - Gauchar - Karnaprayag

Rishikesh to Srinagar Railway Stations
Srinagar to Karnprayag Railway Stations

Maa Rajeshwari Railway Station Srinagar: As per the sources, the name of Srinagar Railway Station will be Maa Rajeshwari Railway Station. It will be located in Chauras opposite Srinagar (other side of River Alaknanda).

Railway Line News Updates

Piyush Goyal (Railway Minister) said that once the development work of the Rishikesh-Karnprayag railway line project is over and the line is thrown open to the public, all passengers/visitors especially devotees will be able to easily travel to all the holy shrines located across the region such as Badrinath, Kedarnath, Joshimath, Chopta, etc.

According to the Railway Ministry, the Rishikesh-Karnprayag broad gauge railway line will promote trade, give a boost to tourism as well as provide railway connectivity between five districts of the state.

News on Amar Ujala : 22 July 2020

21July 2020: First Station at New Rishikesh has been built with trail run as well. It will be named as Yog Nagri Rishikesh Railway Station.

Official Website: Rail Vikas Nigam Limited

Uttarakhand Travel Tips & Blog Articles

Pay securely online with Payment Options Online Payment Options